Free Child Guardianship Setup

Worsham Law Firm

WILL I LOSE MY COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE IF I GET A DWI?

Posted: September 13, 2017

Whether you are an average citizen or a commercial motorist, a first-time DWI conviction in Missouri will result in a maximum jail sentence of six months, fines of up to $500, and license suspension of up to 30 days. However, commercial drivers will face additional penalties associated with their ability to operate commercial motor vehicles.

A DWI is considered a “major violation,” whether a commercial driver is operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) or a non-CMV. A commercial driver will be charged with a DWI for having a BAC of .04% or greater, as opposed to the legal limit for .08% or higher for citizen drivers.

The first offense for a major violation results in a one-year disqualification. If, however, the first offense was committed while the driver was operating a commercial vehicle and transporting hazardous materials, it is punishable by a three-year disqualification.


WHAT OCCURS AT AN ARRAIGNMENT?

Posted: August 10, 2017

Once you are arrested for a crime in Missouri, an arraignment is scheduled for you to appear in court where a judge and the prosecution will read the charge filed against you. The judge will ask you to acknowledge that you are—in fact—the person that has been charged and address the maximum penalties for your charge.

The most important part of this brief hearing is that the judge will ask whether you wish to plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest to the charges against you. Additionally, the arraignment will determine if you have retained an attorney and who it is. If you miss your arraignment, this will lead to an arrest warrant being issued against you.

HOW SHOULD I PLEAD?


‹ First  Newer Post 6 Older Post  Last ›