Free Child Guardianship Setup

Worsham Law Firm

A BRIEF SUMMARY OF MISSOURI GUN LAWS

Posted: November 02, 2016

Amidst the myriad of mass shootings in the United States in recent years and their increased coverage in the media, gun laws in the United States have since garnered considerable scrutiny and controversy from both lawmakers and citizens alike. While many have pushed for tighter restrictions on the purchase and carry of firearms, countless others have stood their ground in defense of the Second Amendment and have instead called for more law abiding citizens to arm themselves against possible aggressors. While the future of gun legislation in the United States is uncertain, it is nonetheless important for the residents of Missouri to understand the state’s current gun laws and ensure compliance.

CONCEALED AND OPEN CARRY LAWS IN MISSOURI

Like many states in the south, Missouri has relatively relaxed gun laws. No permit nor registration of ownership is required to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun in the state. Likewise, individuals within the state are permitted to openly carry a long gun or handgun, though open carry may be prohibited by some local ordinances. As of October 11th, 2014, however, those with a valid concealed carry weapons (CCW) license are exempt from these rules.

Missouri is a “shall issue” state in regards to CCW permits, meaning that those who meet the determining criteria are guaranteed approval without the discretion of the granting authority. To obtain a CCW, an individual must:

  • Be at least 19 years old (or 18 if a member of the armed forces)
  • Be a United States citizen
  • Be a Missouri resident
  • Be able to demonstrate knowledge of firearms safely

With that being said, CCW laws are set to change dramatically following the passing of Senate Bill 656, which will make permitless concealed carry legal throughout the state when it takes effect on January 1st, 2017.

WHO MAY NOT CARRY A FIREARM?

Despite the state’s loose gun laws, there are still numerous categories of individuals who are prohibited from carrying a weapon within the state of Missouri. These include:

  • Individuals younger than 19 years old
  • Non-United States citizens
  • Non-Missouri residents
  • Convicted felons and fugitives
  • Individuals convicted of certain misdemeanors including some DUI charges
  • Individuals dishonorably discharged from military service
  • Individuals with documented patterns of dangerous behavior
  • Individuals adjudicated as mentally incompetent or institutionalized
  • Individuals with a protective or restraining order against them

Exhibiting any weapon “readily capable of lethal use” in an angry or threatening manner is similarly prohibited, as is carrying a weapon into a school facility, place of worship, polling place, airport, alcohol serving establishment, or government building.

CHARGED WITH A WEAPONS VIOLATION? CALL WORSHAM LAW FIRM

Weapons charges are extremely serious and can carry extreme criminal penalties upon conviction, including possible jail time, harsh fines, and possible loss of your right to own a gun. If you have been charged with any sort of weapons violation, theSpringfield criminal defense attorneys at Worsham Law Firm can provide the powerful advocacy you need to minimize your chances of conviction.

To find out more about what our 20+ years of legal experience can do for you, call (417) 658-4172 andset up a confidential case review today.

Categories: Weapons Crimes